Working Together

Wabun Youth - Our Hope For The Future

Wabun Tribal Council serves the six First Nations of: Beaverhouse, Brunswick House, Chapleau Ojibwe, Flying Post, Matachewan and Mattagami

The Wabun Tribal Council is community driven and receives its direction from and is accountable to the Chiefs of Wabun’s six First Nation communities, who make up the organization’s Board of Directors. All senior staff reports to the Executive Director who heads up the organization and is also responsible for the employment and training portfolio. The Wabun Tribal Council headquarters is centrally located in Timmins which has necessary infrastructure to accommodate the organization’s operation and to service its six nearby First Nation communities.

What We Do

Wabun represents its member First Nation at various forums at local and regional levels that range from police services boards to Aboriginal financial institutions. The Council also represents the communities interests in dealings with municipal, provincial and federal government programs and initiatives, such as land use planning, Local Health Integration Networks (LHIN) and other issues as directed by the Chiefs of the communities.

Where We Come From

Wabun Elders

Wabun Elders - Our Wisdom Of The Past

Wabun Tribal Council was incorporated October 1989 and started operations in Timmins April 1990.  The Tribal Council was formed under the Department of Indian and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC) devolution policy to coordinate and deliver services devolved from INAC to First Nation communities at the local level.  The Council, based in Timmins since 1990, purchased a large office building at 313 Railway Street to headquarter its operations in November 1998.  It did so through sound financial management without relying on government grants.  Wabun Tribal Council is a First Nation organization dedicated to delivering services devolved or handed over from the federal and provincial governments to First Nation communities. Wabun’s main roles deal with the coordination and delivering of services to six First Nation communities in the Timmins area. The six First Nation communities of the Wabun Tribal Council are: Beaverhouse, Brunswick House, Chapleau Ojibwe, Flying Post, Matachewan and Mattagami.

All In A Name

The Wabun Tribal Council has a meaningful name to live up to. “Wabun” actually means sunrise and can be easily related to a new day, a new start or a fresh beginning. It is similar in meaning in both the Cree and Ojibwe languages. The sunrise is a part of the day that is special to traditional Native people. In living up to its name, the Wabun Tribal Council objectives have always included the promotion of self reliance, provision for its members’ health, education, social and economic development needs and the enhancement of the unique cultures, traditions and languages of its members.

How We Operate

Wabun Tribal Council is incorporated under the province of Ontario Business Corporation Act, as a non-share capital corporation (non-profit) and administers funds and performs services as contracted with various funding bodies, including Indian & Northern Affairs Canada (INAC), Human Resources Development Canada (HRDC), Health Canada – First Nations & Inuit Health Branch, the Provincial Ministry of Health and others.

Mission Statement

The Wabun Tribal Council is a dynamic community driven organization that is committed to providing quality services to its First Nation membership through innovative, culturally appropriate programming.